Fringe Aesthetics / Installation

This week we have been installing our group exhibition; Fringe Aesthetics in SIA Gallery. I have already decided that I would be exhibiting a series of 9 cone prints, which I have titled ‘Where is my mind?‘. It has taken the entire group 2/3 days to fully install everyone’s work and tidy the space in preparation for our opening days tomorrow and Friday.

16178911_10154380717973224_8450501032948139502_o
Where is my mind?, 2016/17, Series of 9 cone prints, individually measuring 57 x 57 cm, Acrylic on paper.

 

Everything has gone smoothly and as always we really came together as a group to put on the best show we can. This exhibition was different as we had help from the degree show technicians, as this interim show is a dry run at the degree show, so it gives us all opportunity to get to know and work with the technicians, as well as test our own artworks in a white cube space.
I hung my prints using Magnets. This was a suggestion by one of the technicians, after my original plan of mounting the prints on foam board and using command strips didn’t go to plan, so magnets were the solution.

dscf2864

I hand painted 36 5mm magnets in black paint; 4 for each print, 39 screws were then put into the wall in which i laid my prints on top, and the magnets finally on top to secure the prints. I’m really impressed with this hanging method, and they look really sophisticated, I have received really positive feedback on this unique presentation.

 

The placement of my piece was important for the work to be seen the way I want it to. I requested that my work be at a distance so it is firstly seen as image, but then the viewer has to walk up to the piece in order to see the text.

As you can see form the image above, my piece was one of the first to be seen upon entering the gallery, and the placement of my work, works well for how I intent it to be seen, which I’m very pleased about.

The poster had already been made by myself and the remaining catalogue team, so we then finally had to produce a small leaflet so viewers can read more about the work on show through the small statements and also see where each artists work is placed from the map. We also made name labels to go under each work, to ensure the exhibition was as prepared as it could be.

 

The install has gone very well and all is prepared for our opening tomorrow, I’m pleased with how my work looks in the space and I am excited to see my work be viewed and receive feedback on it.

Leave a Reply

