Cyanotype Salvation 2 / Book

 

As I mentioned previously, I didn’t want to just abandon the cyanotypes I had made. So, from this I began to create texture with them (below), this looked interesting in photos, but in person was really unprofessional. I then began to fold the cyanotypes and I then came up with the idea of using my skills I had recently learnt in a bookbinding workshop and make a book of cyanotypes.

 

I folded the cyanotypes to create a rectangular shape, and so, on the back formed a white line. I intended the book to be both a book and quite sculptural, but it feels too much; like I’m throwing too many aspects at one piece. I like the idea of a book turned sculpture, and I like how the edge resembles a heartbeat, but it still feels lacking – it’s not what I want to convey:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The sculptural aspect of the book:

 

Although I dislike this piece, my tutors really like it. I think this will be something I return to and analyse further as to why I don’t like it, since the feedback on it so positive.

Leave a Reply

