Monoprints / Casket Shape

I was concerned that the mono-prints I had been making were not forming into final works, how I wanted them to, so I decided to add more context to them.

A casket is a more modern coffin, it’s a rectangle shape instead of the more stereotypical coffin. It’s dimensions are 84 inches long and 28 inches wide, I have made my mono-prints a 1:10 scale of this and each one measures 8 X 3 inches, I have made 10 of the mono-prints so adding it up, it makes the size of a casket. I think these look quite interesting but in an attempt to add context to them, I think they’ve become too abstract:

 

FullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRender

FullSizeRender (2)

 

In terms of development, I’m going to return to my original mono-print design and make a series of them. I am going to mount these, which I am hoping will make them finished pieces, by giving them a mount I think it will glorify them more as finished works.

 

Leave a Reply

