The Ripple Effect / Exhibition Installation

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This morning we installed all the art work that will displayed in The Ripple Effect.  Gage Galley is a ‘white cube gallery’; the walls are white and the space has little character, so is a blank canvas for the exhibition and it allows the work displayed to speak solely for itself.

The piece I am displaying is ‘Goodbye’, 2015. A single body of work that is created form two single pieces. This includes a wall piece that includes printed voile behind layered of acetate adorned with text from my Death Questionnaire and also a floor piece that consists of smashed glass colleges, on top of a formed sheet.
For the wall aspect of my work, I knew where I wanted it to be displayed; directly under light, as my wall pieces need light so they reflect and cast shadows. As with all group exhibitions, placement needs to be compromised and agreed together, as I wanted a specific place for my pieces, I received the space I wanted, so that was reassuring, not having to worry that I will be place in a dark corner.

photo
Cherelle Khan (Right) and Myself attempting to hang my work. Photo courtesy of Chelsea Abbot.

When all the placements had been settled and secured, it was time to set up. I unfortunately came across some hurdles that I had to resolve. The first was about my floor piece. My plan initially was to lay the sheet on the floor and put my glass pieces directly on top, until I was informed that Gage Gallery is prone to flooding and the night previous, the rain hadn’t stopped. So I had to find a solution that would lift the piece above the floor, and so I placed a plank of wood on top of four bricks, which created a step for my piece to lay on and fortunately it turned out how I had planned. The second hurdle was the Gage Gallery Walls. As I have limited knowledge about DIY and hanging work, I thought that I could simply use small nails and a hammer to place my lightweight work on the wall, this wasn’t the case. The walls at gage are made from brick work, so you either need to use masonry nails to hammer into the cement or a drill to create holes for the nails, neither of which I had, but lucky my fellow student Steve Johnson aided me and finally the pieces were hung.

 

I’ve learnt a lot from this experience so far; I know next time that I will have to know my space and know what tools etc. are needed, to prevent this from happening again. I always plan ahead for everything I do, but I now know I need to plan more, but overall i’m really pleased with how my work looks, It’s exactly how I wanted it to be, It just took 2 hours longer. The opening night for the exhibition is tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

