Making Exhibited Pieces

I had finally reached a stage where I was please with 2 series’ of work, that I wanted to develop on. The first was the the smashed glass pieces, these works have a quality of wanting to repair the celebrity (their death) by placing the cellotape over the smash and it also appears destructive from the glass being broken, showing how their deaths have shattered the world. These pieces are all A4 in size and made with glass, backing plastic, printed images and cellotape.

Below are the finished pieces from this series:

Walt Disney:

Judy Garland:

Jimi Hendrix:

Freddie Mercury:

Kurt Cobain:

Heath Ledger:

Amy Winehouse:

Robin Williams:

 

 

The second series I wanted to create was the layered transferred fabric and acetate pieces. I found these pieces achieved a level of ghost, that remained abstract; I found my other experiments were too literal, I intended on these works being more tactile and ethereal, which I found in the layered fabric works. Below are the finished results, they vary in size but are approx 7 inch X 10 inch, each has 1 layer of transferred fabric, 3 pieces of acetate adorned with permanent marker words, that are the answers from my questionnaire. I have selected a phrase to match each celebrity; a reply I would expect they would say; this individuality is amplified from using the original handwriting:

Walt Disney:

Judy Garland:

Jimi Hendrix:

Freddie Mercury:

Kurt Cobain:

Heath Ledger:

Amy Winehouse:

Robin Williams:

 

 

I’m really pleased with both of my outcomes, I believe they have achieved what I originally intended to do;

‘This work will also reflect my fear of death. I am scared of the thought of no longer existing on this earth, hoping that death is not just black nothingness, a hope that we somehow live on. From this I will be investigating the idea of ghosts through the celebrities – as a way to express that you do live on, using famous figures amplifies living on after you die as their contributions to society; movies and music, will always live on.’

I am going to be exhibiting these works at Gage Gallery, Sheffield in our Creative Art Practice group show; The Ripple Effect, taking place 6th – 11th January 2016. As for the displaying of these works, that will be completed on the day of installation, but I have a plan, on what I expect it to look like. The layered pieces will be nailed to the wall; I will separate each layer so the text casts a shadow under the light. My glass pieces will lie on a body shaped floor piece; having the celebrity correlate to the piece above – Left to Right in order of their deaths. I’m really excited to see these pieces in their final form at the upcoming exhibition.

IMG_0347

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

