Incorporating Text into the figure

After another tutorial, I’ve come out from it with so many more ideas.  This time with an aspect that I am passionate about; Text.  I’ve always enjoyed writing, doing English at school, writing annotations in books, essays are great when you write about what you love. I really like the idea of incorporating ‘text’ into an image, I feel it could add an extra layer to my work; in the form of giving the figure a voice and this brought an opportunity to use the answers from my questionnaire.

Below are two pieces I made using the text from the questionnaire I created and copying the handwritten answers from those onto the erased bodies.  Another reason I like ‘text’ is the handwritten aspect of it – it’s so incredibly personal, like a finger print, everyone’s is different.  In the case I’m using it in; it gives the text personality:

 

I then tried, using the cut out method to create a word, I made one (left) where I simply cut the text out of the figure – but I really disliked this. Then I cut words out of tracing paper; with this I drew a rough shape of the body and make the text inside this, which I then stuck onto the photo using a mix of PVA glue and white acrylic, giving it a really strange ethereal feel, as though it’s not quite in the image, but I really dislike how the text/font looks:

 

 

Finally for these set of experiments, I used the ghost photo from before as an example, I used metal stamps to pierce the paper – this is only visible when held up to the light, which looks affective when in light but out of it, like the original photo.

IMG_0331

 

From these experiments there are two aspects I really like and am going to take forward are the using of the handwritten answers as it works so much better than the block/stamped text – it’s as though the handwriting is that of celebrities, like their last words.  I also want to use PVA/White acrylic mix, other than cellotape.  I think it is the most affective in terms of erasing the figure, the mix of PVA and acrylic creates a blur that has transparency , which  I believe works in context.

One thought on “Incorporating Text into the figure

Leave a Reply

