Cellotape / Ripping their life away

As I mentioned previously, I’ve returned to using cellotape to erase the figure. This is my favourite technique as I love how you get 2 outcomes; the harsh realisation of the removed figure and the fragile repairing and restoration of the figure – this really sums up my emotions toward death. Below are my further experiments with the cellotape:

IMG_0322

Kurt Cobain:

 

Amy Winehouse:

 

Heath Ledger:

 

Jimi Hendrix:

 

Robin Williams:

 

Although I love this technique, I feel it need’s more to it to achieve a final piece. Between the two, I much prefer the printed cellotape; I really like the cracking effect of the cellotape – almost like cracked glass – I will experiment putting the cellotape onto smashed glass, to see if this improves.

Leave a Reply

