Tate Liverpool / September 2015

09/09/2015

I visit Liverpool quite often and I always take a trip to Liverpool Tate whilst I’m there and this time the featured exhibitions were ‘Jackson Pollock: Blind Spots’ and ‘Glenn Ligon: Encounters and Collisions’. These were both on the top level at Liverpool Tate, and the other floors feature exhibitions that rarely change, but that had recently so I also visited the new floors.

Jackson Pollock: Blind Spots

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This exhibition featured a vast amount of his back pouring works, featuring some works that have never been exhibited in the UK before. I’ve never really been fond of Pollock’s works because I’ve never really been fond of abstract paintings, but seeing these in a gallery instead of a screen, was such a contrast that I’ve never witnessed before. There’s an incredible amount of texture and finer detail in Pollock’s work that can never be appreciated through a screen or camera, Photo’s were prohibited in this and the Ligon exhibition, but I would advise anyone to see a Jackson Pollock piece in the flesh, it definitely made me appreciate his work more. I assumed with his reckless process of flicking and pouring paint that they would be created in that moment, but they do have a rhyme and rhythm to them, you can see pattern emerging within them. I did however feel this exhibition became quite repetitive; the process is almost exactly the same in each piece although the colour and direction of each piece does change. I think I would have preferred the exhibition with less works in, each piece would have been appreciated more if they were more sparsely separated.

Glenn Ligon: Encounters and Collisions

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’d never heard of Glenn Ligon before this exhibition, but I’m so glad i discovered him through this exhibition. The works featured we dominantly Ligon’s, featuring some of his paintings, drawings, prints and neon signs but also feature works by other artists including; Felix Gonzales-Torres, On Kawara, Andy Warhol, Chris Offili just to name a few. I much preferred this exhibition compared to the Pollock, it had more variety and was more stimulating and I overall much preferred the work, especially the Bruce Nauman Neon ‘run from fear/fun from rear’ simply for the clever play on words and so simply done by changing two letters. I also really liked Ligon’s prints; one named ‘Mirror’ to my recollection, the smudged quality of the text creates a really eerie feel to the text, almost un readable.

Remaining floors in Liverpool Tate

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They had changed over the artworks on the other floors at Liverpool Tate, Every time i had been previous it was the same so it was great to see different works this time and some really great pieces too, including works by Kurt Schwitters’ ‘The Proposal’ 1942, Richard Hamilton’s ‘Towards a definitive statement on the coming trends in menswear and accessories (a) Together let us explore the stars’ 1962, Gerhard Richter’s ‘Elizabeth I’ 1966, Richard Prince’s ‘creative evolution 3’ 1987, Michaelangelo Pistoletto’s ‘Venus of the rags’ 1967, 1974, John Stezakaker, Untitled, 1978-9 (silkscreen and acrylic paint on two canvases), Grayson Perry’s ‘Aspects of myself’ 2001, Glenn Ligon’s ‘The Death of Tom’ 2008, Lorna Simpson’s ‘Photo Booth’ 2008, and finally many of Sir Eduardo Paolozzi’s Collage works. These were my highlights and just some of the artworks on show at tate, it was a really cohesive collection of works and each piece complemented each other, another great exhibition.

Works by Sir Eduardo Paolozzi:

More Photo’s from Tate Liverpool:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

