Current Project Development – Fan Obsession / Kurt Cobain.

Since the last post on my current project based on fan obsession, my ‘fanzine’ book has really progressed. I’ve created many more individual art pieces and have now composed an A3 book, containing all the pieces I have completed up to now, this also includes an additional A4 and A5 book inside the bigger book, these can be taken out and both books contain more studies of Kurt Cobain.

Up to now I’m really pleased with the outcome. I think my work really captures fan obsession well, wanting to document/draw this person in many different ways, as an obsessed fan would. Images of my work up to now can be seen below;

(image showing my 'fanzine-esk' book - featuring an A5 book within an A3 book, also featuring an artwork that folds out, showing that my book is interactive)
(image showing my ‘fanzine-esk’ book – featuring an A5 book within an A3 book, also featuring an artwork that folds out, showing that my book is interactive)

 

(more pages in my 'fanzine-esk' book. (Left-portrait of Kurt using matches, also featuring burnt matches at the bottom) (Right - 4 seperate portraits of Kurt-melted birthday candles on black card, then carved into using a craft knife) )
(more pages in my ‘fanzine-esk’ book. (Left-portrait of Kurt using matches, also featuring burnt matches at the bottom) (Right – 4 separate portraits of Kurt-melted birthday candles on black card, then carved into using a craft knife) each page is A5 )
(another piece featured in the book - printed photo of Kurt, which I have then used to make a monoprint, featuring lines from Cobain's suicide note - size A4)
(another piece featured in the book – printed photo of Kurt, which I have then used to make a monoprint, featuring lines from Cobain’s suicide note – size A4)
(A collage I created also featured in the book - Kurt Cobain image from a magazine, blood splatter is blown red ink, square to the left are ashes (cigarette) set into PVA glue, background is a page of lino print of Kurt's name in silver ink)
(A collage I created also featured in the book – Kurt Cobain image from a magazine, blood splatter is blown red ink, square to the left are ashes (cigarette) set into PVA glue, background is a page of lino print of Kurt’s name in silver ink)

Even though I’m really pleased with my work currently, I feel I want to take it in a slightly different route, and focus more on either the fan grieving for Kurt Cobain, after his death in 1992 or I want to focus on Kurt Cobain’s death – which I find a really interesting subject. I recently found out that in March 2014, Seattle police released many photos of his crime scene at him home when he killed himself (05-04-92), which are really quite disturbing yet fascinating. I’m currently doing a 6 week workshop in Printmaking, to contribute to our practices, and next week we are experimenting with cyanotypes, and I think these photo’s will look really effective in this medium, so I’m really excited to develop my ideas/project and experiment with more printmaking techniques.

Leave a Reply

