Frankenstein project / Crit & Final Piece

I had my first crit this week where I presented my work, overall it went really well, I received  some really positive and useful feedback, that I have used to develop my work further. The works I presented are shown below, as well as my final piece. I am now in the final stages of finishing my Frankenstein project, I have completed my sketchbook, and all my experiments and I now have a final piece I’m really happy with. For my final piece I decided to create a layered collage of Kurt Cobain with a gun behind him, this piece depicts Cobain’s death and suicide and I feel it’s really reflective of Warhol’s work, so I think I have achieved the brief for the Frankenstein project really well.

(My Final piece for the Frankenstein project - size - A4 -  kurt coabin cut out from clear vinyl plastic, painted with silver printing ink, then layered onto tracing paper, which has been layered onto a callograph of a gun on thin parchment with black acrylic.)
(My Final piece for the Frankenstein project – size – A4 – kurt coabin cut out from clear vinyl plastic, painted with silver printing ink, then layered onto tracing paper, which has been layered onto a callograph of a gun on thin parchment with black acrylic.)

From ideas I was given in crit, I have produced more experiments based on these ideas, which I have now documented in my book. I have also researched 3 artists, some of which were mentioned to me in crit; Dario Robleto (conceptual sculpture), Paul Callesen(paper cuts) and Anselm Kiefer(wood cuts), all of which I’m influenced by their works and I’m excited to experiment with.

After using these ideas from crit and experimenting and creating various pieces I became to feel lost in my project and where to take it next. So after careful consideration I decided to start a fresh with my project keeping to the same original theme of ‘Celebrity Suicide’ but just focusing on just one celebrity, Kurt Cobain as I am a fan of his and of Nirvana too. I personally feel these pieces are the most effective and creative and I feel more inspired by these works.

I have my first assessment next week,  i am quite apprehensive about this but I feel i am ready to take on board any comments and constructive criticism I receive as I know this will only help develop my project and practice further.

Leave a Reply

