Frankenstein Project

We have been given our first project at University and it’s called the ‘Frankenstein’ project, which is the actual gathering and piecing together of various artistic ideas and then hypothetically “stitching” them together to create your own piece of art and this is what our project is all about.

To start this project we were required to visit various Art Galleries to gather ideas and inspiration.  I chose  to visit Liverpool, specifically to see the new ‘transmitting’ Andy Warhol exhibition at the Tate Art Gallery, I also took the opportunity to visit the ‘Walker’ Art Gallery where the ‘John Moore’ painting prize 2014 exhibition was on view. I was unable to take photos of Warhol’s work at the Tate as it was restricted but below are some photos from my trip to Liverpool;

(Poster of the Andy Warhol exhibition inside Tate Liverpool)
(Poster of the Andy Warhol exhibition inside Tate Liverpool)

 

(professionally taken photo of some pieces in the Warhol exhibition. (left to right) Campbell's Soup -screenprint- 1968, Three Brillo Soap Pad Boxes - silkscreen ink and house paint on ply wood- 1964/68, Marilyn Diptych - silkscreen print - 1962 (Marilyn Diptych being one of the pieces that inspired me the most))
(professionally taken photo of some pieces in the Warhol exhibition. (left to right) Campbell’s Soup -screenprint- 1968, Three Brillo Soap Pad Boxes – silkscreen ink and house paint on ply wood- 1964/68, Marilyn Diptych – silkscreen print – 1962 (Marilyn Diptych being one of the pieces that inspired me the most) image from – )

 

(photo of the Liverpool docks taken inside Tate Liverpool)
(photo of the Liverpool docks taken inside Tate Liverpool)

Visiting the galleries, gathering ideas from the various artists, documenting my likes and dislikes and incorporating a wide variety of techniques from other sources such as TV, Films, Music, Stream 1 Session and other art works from outside the galleries has given me the inspiration to create my own interpretation of a ‘Frankenstein’ piece of art, I have taken inspiration from Andy Warhol’s artwork from the Tate exhibition and incorporated the fact he uses Iconic people like Elvis and Monroe, which I have then flipped around to use celebrities who are classed as Icons, yet they have been addicted to drugs and eventually committed suicide , images of my inspiration for celebrities and some drawings from the Stream 1 workshops below;

(Image of Amy Winehouse, Kurt Cobain and Jimmi Hendrix - the tree people who I will be using in my work - all commited suicide and died age 27 - known as part of the "27 club")
(Image of Amy Winehouse, Kurt Cobain and Jimmi Hendrix – the three people who I will be using in my work – all commited suicide and died age 27 – known as part of the “27 club”)

 

(image of a drawing I produced in the stream 1 workshop - size A1 - Charcoal on paper - 'Drawing spaces')
(image of a drawing I produced in the stream 1 workshop – size A1 – Charcoal on paper – ‘Drawing spaces’)
(Image of a second drawing from the stream 1 workshops - size A1 - Charcola on paper - "drawing spaces')
(Image of a second drawing from the stream 1 workshops – size A1 – Charcola on paper – “drawing spaces’)

To help develop and inspire our ideas further we have had 4 workshops, which are: Stream 2, where we can explore Printing, Sculpture, Lens and Painting, hopefully combining these processes and variations to find a happy medium to further inspire the creation of my final piece, some photos from these sessions can be seen below;

 

 

//Images from –

1st – My own photo
2nd – http://i.guim.co.uk/static/w-620/h–/q-95/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2014/11/6/1415280087841/Andy-Warhol-Tate-Liverpoo-012.jpg
3rd – My own photo
4th – http://meetsobsession.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/forever27.jpg
5th- My own Photo
6th – My own photo

Leave a Reply

